Trying to rid the world of dueling denim…..

…and not very successfully I might add.

Christmas Torture December 27, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — rmbutler @ 9:42 am

Christmas…fun or torture? Christmas day, presents all opened, wrapping paper cleaned up, what should we do? How about hike Camelback? That mountain right down the street. Oh sounds lovely…..ha

I figured I could do it, because at Jenness I use to go once a week up a mountain with a backpack full of stuff on my back.  Hope and I use to hike all the time, it was a climb just to get from our cabin down to camp. So i’m thinking NO PROBLEM. I GOT THIS. 
Did I forget to mention that was about 3 YEARS AGO, and I sit on my butt all day at work, no activity at all.  So it’s pretty much a climb not a hike, a hike is leisurely, a climb is strenuous, it was strenuous. Just imagine having to climb really big steps for an hour and a half.  Half way I was all shaky and dizzy. The only thing keeping me going was those little 6 year old shits climbing away.  If the 6 year old can do it, so can I! (I seemed to forget that their energy is endless)
Well needless to say I made it to the top!

Top of old smokey....

Christmas tree?

Look how festive we look next to the ghetto tree?

I can see my house from here!

The way down…so much quicker, but your muscles are so strained from the climb, the chances of falling are a lot to even more.  My shoe slipped on some little pebbles and my side connected with a Rock.  So i’ve got a nice bruise.  Ryan was using a rock for suport to go down a steep drop, and put his hand right in a cactus.  Then we were almost to the end, I could see the parking lot, we had made it to the steps, the steps someone made to make it easy and my whole left leg decided…nope i’m done. So plop there I went, right on my butt.  How tired can you be that you can’t even walk DOWN A STEP…. So we finally make it off the mountain….then we have to walk to the car….which was about half a mile away.  The next morning I woke up, and I couldn’t even lift my arms over my head with out pain, mainly because of my bursitis in my shoulders and the fact that I had irritated them, but every muscle in my legs must have been ripped during the climbing process because now 4 days later, it still hurts to walk down steps, or bend down, or do anything really.  Oh and the good news? I’m going skiing in 3 weeks, won’t that be soretastic! So i’m going to go the gym when I get back from New York because I’ve never been skiing and I have a feeling if I don’t do something I will not be able to walk for a week.

 

One Response to “Christmas Torture”

  1. carol Says:

    Hi, I found your blog by sheer accident, it appeared somehow on my blog as ” automatically generated” ..

    Looks like a fairly high hike.. Where abouts were the photos taken.. I am from Australia I have a photo blog linked to my musings. It is only new and I am just getting into the swing of uploading photos, at the moment the photos are around Sydney and surrounding areas..


Leave a Reply

