Trying to rid the world of dueling denim…..

…and not very successfully I might add.

HOTT March 19, 2007

Filed under: Friends,Holiday,Mesa,Scottsdale,Sports,sweating — rmbutler @ 9:25 am

So my sweating to the 00’s took to a whole new level this weekend. Ryan purchased about 30 Lawn tickets to the Cubs v. Padres St. Patrick’s day Spring Training game. Would you like to know the temperature of the day? 95+ …. I felt like a roasting chicken. My pale skin survived with multiple applications of sunscreen. Luckily the clouds decided to show up and provide us with some relief. I swear it felt 10 degrees cooler with the clouds blocking the sun. It was a fun game even though the Cubs lost. Highlight of the game was when our friend Rob was standing a bit back from where we were all sitting and one of the Padres hit a home run right over our heads. As I jump up and turn around to see where it went behind us…I see Rob with the biggest grin on his face with the ball in his hand. As soon as it registered that my friend had caught the ball. He hurled it back out onto the field…because you know it’s bad luck to keep the opposing teams home run ball.(I just learned that) It was the most talked about subject for the rest of the night. A few of us grilled out later by our friend’ pool. Strangely the pool was still too cold to swim in, despite the fact that it was 95 degrees! As our numbers grew we moved the party up to our friend’s condo. Many drinks were served, seemingly all to my boyfriend. He was looking a bit wasted. I think he spilled more of his drink on himself and the ground than he actually got in his mouth.
As everyone decided to head out to Mill Ave. I decided we should catch a taxi home. There was no way he was going to make it through til 2. We started walking to find a taxi and he declares that he’s hungry. Of course the closest place to eat at midnight to our house is Denny’s.
We order our meals and not 4 seconds later he asks me, “So what did we order?” I say “Moon’s over my Hammy, and French toast” Content with my answer he shakes his head. He asked me about 6 more times. I’m not even exaggerating. Then I got to the point where I quit telling him and would make him guess. Then he thought the food was taking too long and wanted to leave. It had not even been 10 minutes, and he wanted to knock all the drinks off the table and walk out, in a sort of protest. Luckily I was able to distract him with something shiny and he forgot his plan.
After our meal we decided to walk home. It’s only about 4 or 5 blocks, and I think I laughed for the entire time because he started hiccupping. He would hiccup and then start this strange giggle and then mid giggle he would hiccup and that would make him laugh harder, causing me to laugh. It was vicious cycle that lasted the whole way home.

Of course the next morning he remembers none of it. So I get the pleasure of exaggerating every detail.

 

Leave a Reply

